Homeless Advocacy Project (HAP) - Legal Services to Help Break the Cycle of Poverty and Homelessness in Philadelphia
Homeless persons who have civil legal problems are encouraged to visit any of the following clinics to receive free legal assistance; they may either go directly to a clinic or call HAP for an appointment at 1-800-837-2672 or 215-523-9595. Volunteer attorneys and paralegals can provide help with a wide variety of legal matters, including child custody, credit issues, landlord-tenant and public benefits.
Birth Certificate Clinic
Homeless persons who have civil legal problems are encouraged to visit any of the following clinics to receive free legal assistance; they may either go directly to a clinic or call HAP for an appointment at 1-800-837-2672 or 215-523-9595. Volunteer attorneys and paralegals can provide help with a wide variety of legal matters, including child custody, credit issues, landlord-tenant and public benefits.

Legal Clinic Schedule

FREE LEGAL HELP FOR HOMELESS PEOPLE

Please note that the Homeless Advocacy Project cannot provide representation in criminal matters, and cannot bring a lawsuit against anyone.

Jan     Feb     Mar     Apr     May     Jun     Jul     Aug     Sep     Oct     Nov     Dec    

JANUARY 2018   
Tuesday, January 9
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Families Forward
111 N. 49th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, January 10
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Station House
2601 N. Broad Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, January 11
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Perimeter/VMC
213-217 N. 4th Street, 3rd Floor (4th and Florist)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, January 12
10:00-11:00 a.m.
RHD Woodstock
1981 N. Woodstock Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, January 17
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Snyder House
1425 Snyder Avenue
View Map
SNYDER HOUSE RESIDENTS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, January 17
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, January 18
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Eliza Shirley House
1320 Arch Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, January 24
4:30-5:30 p.m.
Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission
302 N. 13th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, January 24
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, January 31
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
to top

FEBRUARY 2018   
Tuesday, February 6
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Project HOME
1515 Fairmount Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, February 7
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES ONLY
Monday, February 12
5:00-6:00 p.m.
Red Shield
715 N. Broad Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, February 14
9:30-10:30 a.m.
Our Brother's Place
907 Hamilton Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, February 14
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, February 15
4:00-5:00 p.m.
Achieving Independence Center (AIC)
1415 N. Broad Street
View Map
AIC Members Only
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, February 21
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, February 23
2:00-3:00 p.m.
St. John's Hospice
1221 Race Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, February 26
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Drueding Center
413 W. Master Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
CANCELED
Tuesday, February 27
10:00-11:00 a.m.
St. Francis Inn
2441 Kensington Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
CANCELED
Wednesday, February 28
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
 
to top

MARCH 2018   
Friday, March 2
1:00-2:00 p.m.
Philadelphia VA Medical Center (VAMC)
3900 Woodland Avenue (Conference Room B802)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, March 6
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Families Forward
111 N. 49th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, March 8
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Perimeter/VMC
213-217 N. 4th Street, 3rd Floor (4th and Florist)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, March 9
10:00-11:00 a.m.
RHD Woodstock
1981 N. Woodstock Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, March 13
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Stenton Family Manor
1300 E. Tulpehocken Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, March 14
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Station House
2601 N. Broad Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, March 15
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Eliza Shirley House
1320 Arch Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, March 20
9:00-10:30 a.m.
PECO Birth Certificate Clinic
2301 Market Street
View Map
BIRTH CERTIFICATE REQUESTS ONLY
Tuesday, March 20
6:30-7:30 p.m.
ECS St. Barnabas
6006 W. Girard Avenue
View Map
CANCELED
POSTPONED DUE TO SNOW
Wednesday, March 21
4:30-5:30 p.m.
Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission
302 N. 13th Street
View Map
CANCELED
POSTPONED DUE TO SNOW
Wednesday, March 21
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, March 22
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Impact Housing
124 E. Indiana Avenue
View Map
CANCELED
POSTPONED DUE TO SNOW
Monday, March 26
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Dreuding Center
1325 N Lawrence St
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
Wednesday, March 28
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinics)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
to top

APRIL 2018   
Tuesday, April 3
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Project HOME
1515 Fairmount Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, April 4
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, April 9
5:00-6:00 p.m.
Red Shield
715 N. Broad Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, April 11
9:30-10:30 a.m.
Our Brother's Place
907 Hamilton Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, April 11
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, April 18
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral (Formerly UCHC Clinic)
23 South 38th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, April 19
4:00-5:00 p.m.
Achieving Independence Center (AIC)
1415 N. Broad Street
View Map
AIC Members Only
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, April 25
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Snyder House
1425 Snyder Avenue
View Map
SNYDER HOUSE RESIDENTS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, April 27
2:00-3:00 p.m.
St. John's Hospice
1221 Race Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
 
to top

MAY 2018   
Wednesday, May 2
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Comcast Birth Certificate Clinic
The Market & Shops at Comcast Center, 1701 JFK Boulevard, Suburban Station Concourse
View Map
BIRTH CERTIFICATE REQUESTS ONLY
Tuesday, May 8
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Families Forward
111 N. 49th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, May 8
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Stenton Family Manor
1300 E. Tulpehocken Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, May 9
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Station House
2601 N. Broad Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, May 10
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Perimeter/VMC
213-217 N. 4th Street, 3rd Fl. (4th and Florist)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, May 11
10:00-11:00 a.m.
RHD Woodstock
1981 N. Woodstock Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, May 14
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Dreuding Center
413 W. Master Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
CANCELED
Thursday, May 17
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Eliza Shirley House
1320 Arch Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, May 18
1:00-2:00 p.m.
Philadelphia VA Medical Center (VAMC)
3900 Woodland Avenue (Conference Room B802)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, May 23
4:30-5:30 p.m.
Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission
302 N. 13th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
to top

JUNE 2018   
Tuesday, June 5
10:00-11:00 a.m.
St. Francis Inn
2441 Kensington Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, June 5
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Project HOME
1515 Fairmount Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, June 11
5:00-6:00 p.m.
Red Shield
715 N. Broad Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, June 13
9:30-10:30 a.m.
Our Brother's Place
907 Hamilton Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, June 19
6:30-7:30 p.m.
ECS St. Barnabas
6006 W. Girard Avenue
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, June 21
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Impact Housing
124 E. Indiana Avenue
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, June 21
4:00-5:00 p.m.
Achieving Independence Center (AIC)
1415 N. Broad Street
View Map
AIC Members Only
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, June 22
2:00-3:00 p.m.
St. John's Hospice
1221 Race Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
to top

JULY 2018   
Tuesday, July 10
10:00-11:00 a.m.
St. Francis Inn
2441 Kensington Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, July 10
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Families Forward
111 N. 49th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, July 10
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Stenton Family Manor
1300 E. Tulpehocken Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, July 11
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Station House
2601 N. Broad Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, July 12
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Perimeter/VMC
213-217 N. 4th Street, 3rd Fl. (4th and Florist)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, July 13
10:00-11:00 a.m.
RHD Woodstock
1981 N. Woodstock Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, July 19
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Eliza Shirley House
1320 Arch Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, July 25
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Snyder House
1425 Snyder Avenue
View Map
SNYDER HOUSE RESIDENTS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, July 25
4:30-5:30 p.m.
Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission
302 N. 13th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, July 26
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Morgan Lewis & Bockius, LLP Birth Certificate Clinic
1701 Market Street (Lobby)
View Map
BIRTH CERTIFICATE REQUESTS ONLY
to top

AUGUST 2018   
Tuesday, August 7
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Project HOME
1515 Fairmount Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, August 8
9:30-10:30 a.m.
Our Brother's Place
907 Hamilton Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, August 13
5:00-6:00 p.m.
Red Shield
715 N. Broad Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, August 16
4:00-5:00 p.m.
Achieving Independence Center (AIC)
1415 N. Broad Street
View Map
AIC Members Only
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, August 17
2:00-3:00 p.m.
St. John's Hospice
1221 Race Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
 
to top

SEPTEMBER 2018   
Thursday, September 6
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Perimeter/VMC
213-217 N. 4th Street, 3rd Fl. (4th and Florist)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, September 7
10:00-11:00 a.m.
RHD Woodstock
1981 N. Woodstock Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, September 7
1:00-2:00 p.m.
Philadelphia VA Medical Center (VAMC)
3900 Woodland Avenue (Conference room B802)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, September 11
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Families Forward
111 N. 49th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, September 12
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Station House
2601 N. Broad Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, September 20
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Eliza Shirley House
1320 Arch Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, September 25
6:30-7:30 p.m.
ECS St. Barnabas
6006 W. Girard Avenue
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, September 26
9:00-10:30 a.m.
PECO Birth Certificate Clinic
2301 Market Street
View Map
BIRTH CERTIFICATE REQUESTS ONLY
Wednesday, September 26
4:30-5:30 p.m.
Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission
302 N. 13th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, September 27
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Impact Housing
124 E. Indiana Avenue
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
to top

OCTOBER 2018   
Tuesday, October 2
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Project H.O.M.E
1515 Fairmount Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, October 9
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Stenton Family Manor
1300 E. Tulpehocken Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, October 10
9:30-10:30 a.m.
Our Brother's Place
907 Hamilton Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
VETERANS ONLY
Monday, October 15
5:00-6:00 p.m.
Red Shield
715 N. Broad Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, October 18
4:00-5:00 p.m.
Achieving Independence Center (AIC)
1415 N. Broad Street
View Map
AIC Members Only
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, October 23
10:00-11:00 a.m.
St. Francis Inn
2441 Kensington Avenue
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, October 26
2:00-3:00 p.m.
St. John's Hospice
1221 Race Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, October 29
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Dreuding Center
413 W. Master Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
to top

NOVEMBER 2018   
Friday, November 2
10:00-11:00 a.m.
RHD Woodstock
1981 N. Woodstock Street
View Map
WOMEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, November 8
9:00-10:00 a.m.
Perimeter/VMC
213-217 N. 4th Street, 3rd Fl. (4th and Florist)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Tuesday, November 13
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Families Forward
111 N. 49th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, November 14
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Snyder House
1425 Snyder Avenue
View Map
SNYDER HOUSE RESIDENTS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, November 14
10:00-11:00 a.m.
Station House
2601 N. Broad Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, November 15
6:00-7:00 p.m.
Eliza Shirley House
1320 Arch Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, November 28
4:30-5:30 p.m.
Sunday Breakfast Rescue Mission
302 N. 13th Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
 
to top

DECEMBER 2018   
Tuesday, December 4
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Project HOME
1515 Fairmount Avenue
View Map
BIRTH CERTIFICATE REQUESTS ONLY
Thursday, December 6
3:00-4:00 p.m.
Impact Housing
124 E. Indiana Avenue
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Wednesday, December 12
9:30-10:30 a.m.
Our Brother's Place
907 Hamilton Street
View Map
MEN ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Thursday, December 13
4:00-5:00 p.m.
Achieving Independence Center (AIC)
1415 N. Broad Street
View Map
AIC Members Only
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, December 14
1:00-2:00 p.m.
Philadelphia VA Medical Center (VAMC)
3900 Woodland Avenue (Conference Room B802)
View Map
VETERANS ONLY
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Friday, December 14
2:00-3:00 p.m.
St. John's Hospice
1221 Race Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
Monday, December 17
5:00-6:00 p.m.
Red Shield
715 N. Broad Street
View Map
NO PA BIRTH CERTIFICATES
 
to top
HAP Facebook Page HAP logo